Preparing for Winter in Style

For my fellow midwesterners and those in the cold weather, winter is now upon us. It has hit us pretty hard here in the Chicago area and I am not sure that I was fully ready for its wrath.

However, I am not going to let the cold discourage me and you shouldn’t either. Just because it’s cold doesn’t mean you have to start dressing only for warmth. With the right pieces, you can still uphold your unique style, and still conquer whatever mother Earth decides to throw your way.

Outerwear

For the last season or two, outerwear has been all about fur, military inspired jackets and trenches, and of course all variations of the peacoat. These items are still in heavy rotation, but have been altered a bit for each season. I must admit I love each of these styles, but one does not have to be limited to them. When it comes to coats and jackets, I am all for neutral colors with a piece of something that gives it pizzazz. These coats below are a few that I adore and that can help make your winter look appear unique, yet polished depending on what your personal style is:

                                                            A dash of fur

burgundy faux fur coat

Neutral Colorblock

color block coatFor the adventurous

leopard coat

Boots

Boots are obviously a must for winter. Many ladies opt for their beloved Uggs, but there are plenty of other style of boots which can keep you warm, fashionable, and are versatile.

Riding Boots

quilted riding boots

   Combat Boots

velvet combat boots

Chic Snow Boots

faux fur lined cold weather bootsAccessories

As far as accessories—scarves, hats, gloves—I like to have fun. I usually pair something like a cheetah scarf with a mustard coat or even blue if I am feeling adventurous. I usually look to what my coat and boot are for the day and go from there. Printed and solid color infinity scarves work, as well as leather gloves , fedoras, and berets (which I love!)

Berets

beret

 Chunky Infinity Scarves

houndstooth silk scarf

 Leather Gloves

faux leather panel gloves

What are your go-to fashion looks for this winter?

Leave a comment